The History of
Nicholson Mansion at Fairforest Creek
A mill stone from Fairforest Plantation can be found on the property today
Fairforest Plantation named after nearby Fairforest Creek was established in the late 1760’s by Col Thomas Fletchall, one of the most prominent loyalists of the Revolutionary war era in the
backcountry of South Carolina. He was arrested and jailed in 1775 for breaking the
Treaty of 96, released a year later, and returned to the plantation
to find his home looted.
Several years later, Fletchall fled to Charleston, only to be later exiled to Jamaica, where he died in 1789
and never again would return to the plantation. After the war, the Plantation was sold at auction to one of Fletchall’s adversaries, fierce patriot General Thomas Brandon.
General Brandon lived here until his death in 1802.
Emslie Nicholson (1863-1939) banker, industrialist and mill owner, built Nicholson
Mansion on the old plantation site in 1923. Architecturally designed by Robert and Co.
of Atlanta, the structure is a Tudor Revival but built with local Fieldstone .The unique masonry work was no doubt inspired by Emslie’s father, a Scottish Mason who moved to Union in the early 1800s.
Another piece of history, the Mansion's stone gazebo
Relics from the old Plantation era include 2 rows of 200 year old cedar trees, which lined the original driveway, plus a millstone from Fletchalls grist mill on Fairforest Creek.
Purchased in 2006, the Mornanes have spent the last 4 years restoring and furnishing the home.
They have combed antique stores and visited auctions to find the perfect pieces for each room. The art featured throughout the house has been collected from their travels.